none
Orchestration Design - One Receive Port, Multiple Send Ports RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I'm new to the Biztalk scene and would just like a little advice on desiging an orchestration if possible. The basic scenario is that our ERP system is going to generate a P/O request and pass it to Biztalk, the orchestration will probably be published as a webservice. The orchestration should then pick up which vendor the P/O is intended for (using the promoted fields) and pass it to that vendors' own orchestration (also published as a web service), to transform as necessary and pass on to the vendors own system in whatever format is required.

Two questions really:
    1. Is that a good way to do it? Each vendors' own orchestration can then be updated and deployed seperately as necessary.
    2. In the main orchestration, what is the most efficient way of making the decisions. Bearing in mind we will have approximately 15 vendors to start with, increasing to anything up to 50 in the very near future. Should I be using the decision shape multiple times, i.e. check vendor code for match, if match pass to send port, if not, move on to next decision shape (could see this getting quite messy).

Any pointers you could give me on this would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
    Terry.
    Wednesday, January 13, 2010 12:08 PM

Answers

• Thanks for the answers folks, much appreciated. I'll look at each scenario, but I think the messaging only is probably the way to go on most. We will be getting synchronous responses from some supplier and asynchronous from others, so I'll have to work out what to do for the best there. At least now I've got some good info on which way to be heading with the development and can start some testing.
    Thursday, January 14, 2010 4:56 PM

All replies

• Terry,

IMHO you should use a messaging only scenario for this, unless there is the need to do more processing on the messages other than mapping them to the vendors format.