none
Kinect v2 and Unity 5: Working with 3D Object RRS feed

• Question

• Hii,

I'm still learning to use Kinect with Unity Project. From my post before (Kinect v2 and Unity 5), finally I can do rotation based on a Joint rotation, Thanks to David's answer.

Now, I'am facing new problem with the object orientation itself because of rotation data that I've set. Any object that is associated with rotation code is facing down. I've tried on many joint, the result are the same. here's the pic:

Facing down object

I downloaded free 3D object from Armour 3D Blend for learning unity. Is there anyone know about this problem ?

Thanks

Adityo Setyonugroho

Sunday, August 30, 2015 1:46 PM

Answers

• Hello.

Your code is wrong.

"this.gameObject" is current GameObject that script add to, it's not your model.

You can try reference to Model GameObject, like this:

public GameObject referenceObject;

referenceObject.transform.rotation = new Quaternion(orientation.X, orientation.Y, orientation.Z, orientation.W);

The "referenceObject" is set to your Model GameObject In UnityEditor.

• Edited by nugao Monday, August 31, 2015 10:12 AM
    • Marked as answer by Adityo Setyonugroho Thursday, September 17, 2015 5:27 AM
    Monday, August 31, 2015 10:03 AM

All replies

• Hello.

Please post the rotation code snippet.

• Edited by nugao Monday, August 31, 2015 1:40 AM
    Monday, August 31, 2015 1:39 AM
  • Hi,

this is the code that I used:

if (body.IsTracked)
                {
                    var pos = body.Joints[Windows.Kinect.JointType.SpineBase].Position;
                    var orientation = body.JointOrientations[Windows.Kinect.JointType.SpineBase].Orientation;
                    this.gameObject.transform.position = new Vector3(pos.X * 10, pos.Y * 10, pos.Z * 10);
                    this.gameObject.transform.rotation = new Quaternion(orientation.X, orientation.Y, orientation.Z, orientation.W);
                    break;
                }

Adityo Setyonugroho