Active Directory Authentication in Azure RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a newbie in Azure. I have an application where i want to authenticate users from Active Directory (located in-premises). My Application is hosted on cloud.

Can anyone help me in sharing some code, or tutorial links so that i am able to use it. Basically the Idea of using ACS for authentication is not quiet clear.so i need your help people...

Thanks in advance..

• Moved by DanielOdievich Tuesday, September 28, 2010 9:09 PM forum migration (From:Windows Azure)
    Tuesday, June 22, 2010 6:50 AM

Answers

All replies

• The Windows Azure Platform Training Kit has a hands-on-lab on "Federated Authentication in a Windows Azure Web Role Application."
    Tuesday, June 22, 2010 7:12 AM
  • Hi Neil Thnx for replying.

Correct Me if I am wrong but i asked for something by which I can authenticate and also get information from the Active Directory like the UserGroups, OU's etc.

Can you please tell me how can this be achieved? Will I be able to extract this information by using the Service Bus?

Thanks in advance...

Tuesday, June 22, 2010 10:36 AM
  • Hi Rahul,

the basic concept behind federated authentication is that your application does not have to worry about implementing authentication and the user will not have to worry about a new login for each service he/she uses. In addition, the security design goal is, that a service is not reading through a complete directory, but rather get's a simple "yes, this is really john doe"-info from the adfs.

If you need further "claims" from the active directory, this can be achieved through claims based security, also supported by ADFS. Meaning, with a user coming to your service, you will get the "yes" and i.e. the business role of the user.

It seems, that you want to do more than that here and try to gather information from the AD. So perhaps, a good approach would be