none
Word file with Add-In or Word template? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm totally new to this, so please bear with me. I want to know the difference between choosing "Word with Add-In" versus a "Word template." I'm using VS2010 and Word 2010. I need to create code that will help me to convert incoming SGML files. SGML is, of course, just tagged ASCII, like XML. But, I need to take these SGML documents and convert them into pretty, structured Word documents with paragraph styles.

So, if I choose Project/Office/Word 2010 Add-In, I'll end up with a Word file with an Add-In pulldown that I can execute code from. If I choose Project/Office/Word 2010 template, will I get that Add-In pulldown? And, if not, how will I execute the code in that template. Will I literally run a macro like in VBA?

It's because, whatever I choose, I'll be opening up raw files to act on that I'm confused. I've assumed that, because I'll be opening up other files, I should choose a template, because, then, the code in my template can be used with the newly opened files. If I choose a Word file, though, I'm not sure that any code I put into it will be available to me when I open up another file.

Thanks,

Peter

Friday, April 29, 2011 12:20 PM

Answers

• Hi Peter

This is the wrong place to ask that. Try the forums on OpenXMLDeveloper.org and the Open XML SDK forum.

Cindy Meister, VSTO/Word MVP
    • Marked as answer by pb4072 Monday, May 2, 2011 11:13 AM
    Monday, May 2, 2011 5:53 AM

All replies

• Hi Peter

It would probably be best to back up a step and ask: do you need to interact with the Word application at all?

The Open XML file format lets you generate documents without the Word application, using the standard .NET Framework Packaging and XML namespaces. In essence, you ought to be able to perform a transform on the SGML to Word Open XML, "pack it up" to a docx and pass the finished product to the user.