how to register as adminstrator ?? RRS feed

• Question

• User148603208 posted

hi i'v installed cube site starter kit on web server and it's working fine

how can i register my self as admin ? i tried to register in the  with username administrator but it still normal user

and when i'm trying to open web.config i get erroe message

i'm still new at asp.net so i dont know alot of thing 

Server Error in '/ClubWebsite' Application.

This type of page is not served.

Description: The type of page you have requested is not served because it has been explicitly forbidden.  The extension '.config' may be incorrect.   Please review the URL below and make sure that it is spelled correctly.

Requested URL: /ClubWebsite/web.config

Friday, February 16, 2007 3:51 PM

All replies

• User-1139504151 posted

You can't open the web.config from a browser.

If your club site is on a shared host, you will need to make the changes necessary in the database.

First, select * from aspnet_Users.  What you are looking for is the UserId for the UserName that you want to make an administrator.

Then, select * from aspnet_Roles.  What you are looking for is the RoleId for the RoleName of Administrators. 

Finally, you want to insert into aspnet_UsersInRoles the UserID that you got from the first step and the RoleId you got from the second step.

Or make yourself a temp page that has the following code in it.  Then after you log into the site, visit this page.

You will need to put this in a temp aspx page.  Call it by adding ?UserName=<whatever your username is> to the end of the URL.

Dim userName as String = ""
    Protected Sub Page_Load(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Me.Load
         'retrieve the username from the querystring
         userName = Request.QueryString("UserName")
         If Request.QueryString("UserName") Is Nothing Then
              Response.Redirect("~/Default.aspx")
         End If

Dim userRoles() as String = {"Administrator"}