none
VS 2015, Office 2016 - XML expansion pack doesn't load RRS feed

• Question

• I have a VBA Word add-in that I have been using for many years. A few years ago, I tried to move it up to Office 2013, but no luck. I got "You are currently viewing this document in multiple windows. To attach an XML expansion pack, you must first close all additional windows so that you are viewing the document in only one window."

I couldn't find any additional windows and no help via searching this forum or on Google, so I gave up temporarily and stayed with VS 2012 and Word 2010 where everything worked fine. I finally decided that I really needed to move up as I couldn't depend on having Word 2010 around forever. So I moved to VS 2015 Pro with VSTO and Word 2016. The same error appeared and I still can't figure out how to get around it.

The add-in uses several expansion panes although only one at a time. Mostly they display a kind of progress status using check boxes to show which work items have been completed. I should mention that I also add another tab to the Word ribbon that contains all the buttons to trigger various work items in the add-in.

Again, remember that this all works with VS 2012 Pro with VSTO and Word 2010, but not with Word 2013 or 2016. Moving up to VS 2015 added some nice changes, but didn't fix the problem. The relevant code is shown below:

Sub SetFixupPane(ByRef NewPP As Boolean, ByVal Title As String) ' ' Initializes the Fixup Progress action Pane. ' ' NewPP is set to True if a new action pane needs to be instantiated, false otherwise. ' If a new pane is instantiated: ' Title becomes the title of the action pane ' PP is defined in the main block as:

' Dim PP As FixupActionPane = Nothing

'