none
Excel not formatting numbers properly with default number group separator RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm a developer for a small business. I'm experiencing this problem with one of our clients.

When the computer has the regional settings "Dutch (Belgium)" - "nl-BE" (or "Nederlands (België)"),  the default number group separator looks like a whitespace. When numbers are exported to an excel file via our Windows application, it formats the numbers as strings. Not as numbers..

It turns out that the default number group separator is not a whitespace but consists of the ASCII characters 194 160. Excel seems to be unable to parse the text as numbers with those ASCII characters as separator. The ASCII characters are present in the outputfile. But the numbers are interpreted as text.

When I change my regional settings to another setting but modify the default number group separator into the same ASCII characters 194 160, Excel can't interpret the numbers as such either.

The path the application follows is in short this:

1. Numbers are in a datagridview.

2. All records are selected and copied to the clipboard.

3. A new excel file is generated with one worksheet in which the data is pasted.

On our development stations we have been able to workaround the problem by changing the default number group separator in an actual whitespace. But with this client we're not allowed to make that change.

My computer runs on Windows 8 EE with all the latest updates installed. The application is developed in Visual Studio 2012 in .net framework 4.5 with Office 2013 for home use and small businesses.

Best regards,

Jan Vermeer

Friday, February 6, 2015 12:47 PM

All replies

• Hi Jan,

According the description, you were developing an applicaiton import data into Excel worksheets. And it formats the number as strings.

Would you mind sharing some code snippet about how you import the data?