Using a command button in a form to create a second linked record RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Azzess and Windows programming after a lifetime of Unix, C, Perl, etc. and a non-standard database system.

As an exercise, I'm setting up a membership database which allows for joint membership of two people living at the same address. My solution for this is to use a command button in the members entry form, which would

(1) Copy the current record field values into variables and save the current record

(2) Get the MemberID (AutoNumber) field value

(3) Create a new record, copying the address and other data expected to be the same from the first record, storing the first member's MemberID and MembershipNo into fields JointID and JointMemberNo and setting the MemberType field to S (for Second member).

(4) Run a form for entry pf the second member's details. (The user can abort here - if so, the second record would be deleted).

(5) Get the second member's MemberID and MembershipNo and copy them into the first member's JointID and JointMemberNo fields, and resetting the MemberType to J (Joint member - the default value is I - Individual). Also, just for good measure, entering both IDs and MembershipNos into a record in a second table.

What I am struggling with is the coding for saving the current record and collecting its ID number.

Stephen Bird

London

Wednesday, October 17, 2012 12:10 PM

Answers

• Hi Stephen,

Welcome to the MSDN forum.

>> What I am struggling with is the coding for saving the current record and collecting its ID number. 

First of all, build a bound form. To save the current record, please try : DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdSaveRecord .

To collect the ID in current record, supposing the ID field is txtID, we can refer to it as Me.[txtID]. We can save the value of this ID field to a public variable.

You may refer to the following link as well:

How to copy some fields in current record into new record?