none
Excel Chart Macro Issues RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am working on inserting macros into an excel bar chart which will allow me to click on each bar to open up separate excel files to better explain where the information is coming from. I was able to successfully do this with one bar using the following code:

Sub MacroName()

Dim wb As Workbook

Set wb = Workbooks.Open("\\Drive\Folder\FileName")

However, as soon as I try adding the next link to another bar they stop working. After messing around for a while with names of macros and even trying different modules I was able to get them to run correctly in Visual Basic, but when I go back to the chart the button I had created no longer worked like it did when I only had one button. I also tried using text boxes instead of buttons and had the same result.

Please help, is there something I am missing or a different code or something? I am a complete noob with coding in excel.

Thursday, May 28, 2015 4:23 PM

All replies

• Hi,

>> However, as soon as I try adding the next link to another bar they stop working

What do you mean about adding the next link to another bar?

>>when I go back to the chart the button I had created no longer worked like it did when I only had one button

What’s the button used for? When run the button before, what it was like, and when you ran it again, what’s like. Could you please share more detailed information about your issues? If it is possible, could you please share a sample that could reproduce this issue?

Best Regards,

Lan

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

Monday, June 1, 2015 9:05 AM
  • Hello,