a basic question on BLL , plz guide me RRS feed

• Question

• User852864959 posted

Hi,

thanks for your attention and time,

I am new to implementing layered architecture. In my project I have UI,BLL and DAL layers. From page user id &  password go to BLL and BLL pass it to DAL. If use exisit its full record is return to BLL through DAL.

User can be a user or a staff member, after login user go to user panel and staff go to staff panel.  My confusion is where I should check user type in BLL or record should be go login page.cs and there it should be checked and then user should be moved ?

thanks

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Tuesday, December 29, 2009 3:24 AM

Answers

• User-1071856410 posted

After checking whether User exists, Your BLL will be passing the UserEntity Object back to the login page.

(In an ideal architecture, You will have an entity for representing the user.

Lets say you have a UserEntity class. Now this class will have all the user's properties. Along with other fields UserEntity will have a field called UserType.)

Now you can check the UserType from the login page itself and redirect the user accordingly.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Tuesday, December 29, 2009 4:24 AM
  • User-1161841047 posted

I believe the best way to return the user info object from BLL and in paeg login check for the Authorization and redirect the page.

Tuesday, December 29, 2009 4:35 AM
  • User-1071856410 posted

@muhammedsalimp, @Yousef_Jadallah checking user type is not a business rule ? should it not be done in BLL ? secondly if we check user type in login.aspx.cs then we are again putting our business logic in page as opposed to what generally is adviced that business logic should be in BAL and not in UI layer (my BLL & DAL are seprate class libraries) ? Please guide and clarify thanks.