none
WCF Transations with Worst case scenarios RRS feed

• Question

• Hi ,

I have some set of questions which is triggered when i started learning about the WCF transactions in depth level.

but, i cant see the answers about the below questions anywhere in forums. because all are practical scenarios.

1. WCF transaction is implemented the way of distributed transaction in my client and server applications. the middle layer as WCF service to connect the database from client. I used TransactionScope in client side to connect the service and doing my operations. If it is successful then, I can commit the transactions from client. but , it is failed then, Catch block will handle the rollback process automatically.

1. In this scenario, If the error occurred in transport level in between second and third service operation then, network pipe cannot support to connect the service again to do the rollback activity in from client to service side. how it can be achieved the rolback process?

2. At the same time Transaction started in client side, and completed the 2 operations in service and 2 more operations are subsequent operations. but for some reason the service hosted server has restarted. so, in client side we has receiving the timeout exception because of this.but, how it can rollback in database level. because there is no service available during the restarting period. How we can achieve the rollback activity in here?

2. Please give us the suggestions related to the below scenarios.

I have 5 operations in single transaction.  i have 2 ideas for this.

1. I can split the all operations and established in to service operations and handle the transactions in client side by using Transaction scope. If there is any problem in between the operations then, client will rollback the transaction process.