none
Database Index

Question

• Hi 

I am design a new database. I would like to know which column to select for index.

I know index is good for selection but not so good for insert, update etc....

furthermore, I know cluster and non cluster index

any advice

Friday, April 27, 2018 12:20 AM

All replies

• After you've create primary key and unique constraints (which are implemented as unique indexes), candidate columns for other indexes are those specified in join and where clauses. The choice of the best clustered index depends on how the table is queried. The primary key index is often chosen for the clustered index when queries often select most or all columns by the primary key.

Dan Guzman, Data Platform MVP, http://www.dbdelta.com

Friday, April 27, 2018 1:36 AM
  • Hi 

Thanks for response. what we have to keep in mind when we create index .

I am new to indexing. what should I do if I have to do indexing. what to select and why. (Is there any rules)

Also, I don't understand what do you mean by this "candidate columns for other indexes are those specified in join and where clauses"

Friday, April 27, 2018 3:09 AM
  • The remainder of your indexing depends on how you access the data from your applications.  You create indexes to satisfy your application queries - not for some hypothetical design pattern.

You could simply connect up your application and wait to see what the instance suggests in the way of missing indexes to get a starter - once you see the choices then you might be able to work out more of your own.

It is also not strictly true that indexes are bad for INSERT/UPDATE/DELETE.  Your query still needs to find the record to update or delete for example and if it does much more work to find the record then the extra writes for the indexes are irrelevant.

Martin Cairney SQL Server MVP

Friday, April 27, 2018 4:26 AM
  • https://www.codeproject.com/articles/359654/important-database-designing-rules-which-i-fo