locked
Prevent users from editing\deleting Building Blocks in Standard Templates RRS feed

  • Question

  • We have a couple of standard templates which contain building blocks, one is in a shared startup location and the other in a shared building blocks location.  The problem that we have is that when a user goes to the Building Block Organiser they are able to edit and delete items contained in this template.

    We have secured the files and folders from updates using NTFS Permissions so the users are unable to edit the templates however the users still get prompted to save their changes. 

    Is there a mechanism to either:

    1. Prevent building blocks from standard templates displaying in the Organiser all together.
    2. Disable the Delete/Edit buttons for Building Blocks in shared templates
    3. Or reject changes to templates without prompting the user on exit of word

    Any suggestions welcome.

    Jon

    Tuesday, August 7, 2012 1:06 PM

Answers

  • Hi Jon,

    The way I would approach this is slightly different. We have 200+ templates. In my view firstly you should move away from shared folders startup and building blocks.

    Secondly, you can write a simple vbscript, or .Net which copies files from your network drive to user's PC/laptop. Whenever there is an update, you can replace the files on central network folder and ask the users to run your update/file copy program. It will update the files they have locally.

    By doing this, your master copies would remain intact and users wouldn't see any save prompts.

    The other alternative to this is creating a VSTO application level add-in to control visibility of certain features of Word.

    Hope this helps!!

    Regards,

    Pranav Vaidya

    PS: If this has resolved the issue you are facing please mark it as answer so that it will help others on the forum who may have similar issue.

    • Marked as answer by Quist Zhang Thursday, August 16, 2012 10:08 AM
    Tuesday, August 7, 2012 5:44 PM