none
Can anyone see what's wrong with this query? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Folks,

I'm sorry for what is likely a stupid question but... I'm a very new aspiring developer and in my project I added two tables and a domain service etc from the ASP Membership provider.  My task at this point is that I'm trying to retrieve a matched email given the user inputting their user name (this is the first part of my effort at building my own password recovery page).  Any way, running debug shows me that the input text is fine, and looking at the table that's referenced I see the user name exactly as it appears in the parameter but it returns no result :S I hope I'm explaining this well...

My code is as follows:

private void submitInfoBtn_Click(object sender, System.Windows.RoutedEventArgs e)

{

string retrieveName = enterUserNameBox.Text;

MemberInfoDomainContext dc = new MemberInfoDomainContext();

aspnet_User inquiry = dc.aspnet_Users.Single(p => p.UserName==retrieveName);

aspnet_Membership email = dc.aspnet_Memberships.Single(p=>p.UserId==inquiry.UserId);

MessageBox.Show (email.Password);

}

Thanks very much for any insight and suggestions!

Paul
    Thursday, March 4, 2010 10:02 PM

Answers

All replies

• Is there possible case situation or extra spaces either in the inputted text or the text in the database which would not make the connection?
    William Wegerson (www.OmegaCoder.Com)
    Thursday, March 4, 2010 10:27 PM
  • Thanks for the reply William,

I really don't think those are issues. Viewing the string in debug, it reads correct and matches the name field in the db precisely. I even tried typing in a known user name as a string literal rather than using the variable, and tried multiple known user names from the ASP db.  It should work, shouldn't it?

Good thing I have no hair or I'd be tearing it out...
    Thursday, March 4, 2010 10:30 PM