help with LDAP SASL RRS feed

• Question

• User271633065 posted

I am a newbie with enterprise directories. I am trying to write an ASP.NET application to fetch some data from my university LDAP enterprise directory. There are 2 types of access allowed to the LDAP server. One is a anonymous access and another is the access that exists mainly to give privileged accounts access to person information that can otherwise not be publicly viewed. These privileged accounts, called Y Services, are primarily used to look up person data and authorize people on this data.

Now, i was able to use the anonymous access priviliges and view the data from LDAP server. What i want to do is to use the Y services and view the person information that cannot be accessed via the anonymous access. For example i want to view the date of birth for the person which is available in the Y Services access.

The university instructions say the following:

What you see in Y Services is dependent on how you bind (anonymous, simple, SASL EXTERNAL) and the amount of privileges the bound user has. Connecting to Y Services requires the use of <ACRONYM title="Transport Layer Security">TLS</ACRONYM> client certificate authentication, meaning you must have a signed certificate from the uiniversity in order to connect. Users bound anonymously can only search on ID and can only see the DN (distinguished name) of any user. Users that have performed a SASL EXTERNAL bind can only see those attributes they have been approved to see (for all users), and only if the corresponding service is ACTIVE.

Now, i know that the TLS client certificate has been installed on my server by my Sys admin. Please tell me the steps to do the bind and fetch the date of birth for all people in department X.

Here is the anonymous bind code.

Dim deLdapConn As DirectoryEntry = New DirectoryEntry("LDAP://directory.a.edu/dc=a,dc=edu")

Dim searcherLdap As New DirectorySearcher(deLdapConn)

Dim Results As SearchResultCollection