Carrying objects between searches: Efficent way of using DirectorySearcher RRS feed

• Question

• User1588321482 posted

I am new to VB.Net and in the past have used VBS. There I would use ADO to search directories and try to pass the ADODB object between searches rather than destroying and re-intiating between calls. The Directory Searcher class looks much the same but I want to make sure I am using if efficently.

As an example if I want to search my Exchange 5.5 Directory then a couple of Active Directory Forests (we have 4 Forests, plus two iPlanet Directories)

1    'Create .Net Directory Search Object
    2    Dim DirEntry As New DirectoryServices.DirectoryEntry(LDAPPath)
    3    Dim SearchDir As New DirectoryServices.DirectorySearcher(DirEntry)
    4    SearchDir.Filter = "(&(uid=" & alias to search for & "))"
    6    'one dimensional string array to set the attribute list of the search
    7    SearchDir.PropertiesToLoad.AddRange(colAttributes)
    9    'Create Search Collection and Result to hold values from query
    10   Dim searchReturn As DirectoryServices.SearchResultCollection
    11   Dim SearchResult As DirectoryServices.SearchResult

It looks to me that I can't carry anything between searches becase the LDAPPath for the DirectoryServices.DirectoryEntry is different and this is the route object. However, can I refresh the object rather than destryoing and recreating? What about the other parameters? The Search Filter will be different (Exchange 5.5 I am using UID (which is alias) whilst in Active Directory it becomes mailnickname). The collection of attributes that I want to return will also be different because of the different naming conventions between directories.

Finally, how do I clear up properly at the end of the procedure? Again from my VBS experience I would use a combination of 'object.close' and 'Set object = Nothing'?

Many thanks,

Paul 

Sunday, June 24, 2007 8:23 AM

Answers

• User1439985827 posted