Scale and rotate image and place in picturebox control with new size RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I'm trying to work on getting an image to scale and rotate and then place it back in a picturebox control, but I need to resize the picturebox to the new image and running into a little trouble there.  After doing a bunch of searching around, I've ended up with the below code, but the image that's being returned is of the same exact dimensions as the original, causing cropping (when rotating or scaling the image bigger) or excessive blank spacing around the image (scaling the image smaller). This is my first time dealing with image manipulation of this nature, so I'm assuming I'm failing to understand a concept somewhere, so if someone could help me figure it out that would be great.

I obtained the code I'm using from here (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/40431154/rotating-an-image-in-a-picture-box) and adapted to include the scaling when I found the ScaleTransform method.

Should note this is in VB.Net, using Visual Studio 2012.

Private Function ScaleAndRotateImage(img As Image, scalefactor As Double, angle As Integer) As Bitmap
    	Dim retBMP As New Bitmap(img.Width, img.Height)
    	retBMP.SetResolution(img.HorizontalResolution, img.VerticalResolution)
    	Using g = Graphics.FromImage(retBMP)
    		g.TranslateTransform(img.Width \ 2, img.Height \ 2)
    		g.ScaleTransform(scalefactor, scalefactor)
    		g.RotateTransform(angle)
    		g.TranslateTransform(-img.Width \ 2, -img.Height \ 2)
    		g.DrawImage(img, New PointF(0, 0))
    	End Using
    	Return retBMP
    End Function

Thank you!

EDIT:

So still working on this and just tried out the below code changes.  This appears to help scaling, though I don't know if there's a better way?  Now need to "fix" rotation so it doesn't crop the corners.

Private Function ScaleAndRotateImage(img As Image, scalefactor As Double, angle As Integer) As Bitmap