Office 2010 web components RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm a C++/MFC developer.

My company's MFC application works with Office 2003 web components

The application uses mainly the Excel components

We were upgrading our Office system from 2003 to 2010 and as a result, the part of our application which works with the Office 2003 web component is no longer available (in debug mode an assertion pops up)

I'm trying to find equivalent Office 2010 web component with no success

Can anyone help me with this issue??

Thanks

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 10:11 AM

Answers

• I have found the solution:

My code uses Office 2003 Web components.
    As long as I had Office 2003 installed on all machines, all relevant components were already there.
    Once I uninstalled Offices 2003 and installed Office 2010, all those components were also removed
    so my application has failed to load them.

The solution is simple:
    Download and install Office 2003 Add-in: Office Web Components  on all relevant machines
    (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?familyid=7287252c-402e-4f72-97a5-e0fd290d4b76&displaylang=en)
    This way relevant components are back on your machine(s) and the application can use them again.

Enjoy
    Tuesday, May 17, 2011 11:42 AM

All replies

• I have found the solution:

My code uses Office 2003 Web components.
    As long as I had Office 2003 installed on all machines, all relevant components were already there.
    Once I uninstalled Offices 2003 and installed Office 2010, all those components were also removed
    so my application has failed to load them.

The solution is simple:
    Download and install Office 2003 Add-in: Office Web Components  on all relevant machines
    (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?familyid=7287252c-402e-4f72-97a5-e0fd290d4b76&displaylang=en)
    This way relevant components are back on your machine(s) and the application can use them again.

Enjoy
    Tuesday, May 17, 2011 11:42 AM