none
Need performance advice for HttpClient and JSON serialization RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all, I'm new to network programming and have just completed my first RESTful client/server "pair". My server is a web api written in ASP.NET core and the client is a full framework WPF application using HttpClient. I'm trying to send an object contaning some simple data types including an array of Bytes. The array is typically about 4MB or so but could be larger. I have it up and running but I'm unhappy with the performance. While I have little experience in these matters I believe the JSON serialization/deserialization is the culprit. Here's what I've got:

MY data class that's being retrieved by the client:

public class ByteData
        {
            public int Rows { get; set; }
            public int Columns { get; set; }
            public Byte[] Values { get; set; }
        }

In my .NET Core server I serve up the data as follows:

[HttpGet("/api/data")]
            public IActionResult GetImage()
            {
                if(MyServer.IsRunning)
                {
                    return Ok(MyServer.byteData);
                }
                else
                {
                    return NotFound("Not running");
                }
            }

where "byteData" is an object of type "ByteData". In my WPF client I retrieve the data as follows:

HttpClient client = new HttpClient();           
    client.BaseAddress = new Uri("http://localhost:8081/");
    client.DefaultRequestHeaders.Accept.Clear();
    client.DefaultRequestHeaders.Accept.Add(new MediaTypeWithQualityHeaderValue("application/json"));
    ByteData dataImage = RetrieveData();

where:

private ByteData RetrieveData()
            {
                ByteData data = null;
                stopWatch.Reset();
                stopWatch.Start();

HttpResponseMessage response = client.GetAsync("api/myData").Result;
                if (response.IsSuccessStatusCode)
                {