sending API messages to client through terminal services. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I need some direction.  I am brand new to developing apps for terminal services. I have a situation where I need to be able to send a message to a client system through terminal services.  My code looks something like the following...

Private Sub pnlTitleBar_MouseDown(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.MouseEventArgs) Handles Me.MouseDown
            If (e.Button = Forms.MouseButtons.Left) Then
                Me.Capture = False
                Me.WndProc(Message.Create(ParentForm.Handle, WM_NCLBUTTONDOWN, CType(HT_CAPTION, IntPtr), IntPtr.Zero))
            End If
        End Sub

The experienced might recognize immediately that I have developed a custom skinned application.  Obviously, I already have the referenced constants defined. I artificially fire the forms WndProc method -- passing it my own message containing the handle to the parent form (because this is a user control) and the constants to simulate a mousedown event on my form's non-client titlebar (caption) area.  

The app runs great locally but, when I deployed this to my Terminal Services/Citrix app server,  I discovered an unexpected behavior.  The non-client elements of an app deployed over TS/Citrix are not managed server-side and streamed to the client like a form's content.  Rather, those areas (titlebar and form borders) seem to be drawn and managed by the client system.  I determined this by writing a test app that logged API messages to a listbox while the app is running.  Deployed locally, dragging the right border and thus, resizing my form width or dragging the titlebar and thus moving the form produces the expected "WM_SIZING" and "WM_MOVING" messages in the output.

When I run the test on the TS/Citrix app server, the same expected messages don't fire.  The test form behaves the same in either case but the API message flow is different.