none
VSTO Outlook 2010 Custom Button to change the subject of a new email RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to VSTO. I wrote an Add-in example for Outlook 2010 and it works fine.<o:p></o:p>

Later on I added a custom group to the built-in new email message tab ribbon and added a button using the default name Button1. When I run the add-in the button shows up fine.<o:p></o:p>

I want to click on this button and change the subject and the body content. I tried to add a private sub Button1_Click with code that changes the subject to “subject example” and the body to “body example” and could not make it work. Can you show me the code that I need to add to make my button1 work. Thanks for your help

Wednesday, September 23, 2015 6:56 PM

Answers

• Fei,

There is no need to use the ActiveInspector method of the Application class:

private void button3_Click(object sender, RibbonControlEventArgs e)
    {
         Outlook.Inspector inspector = e.Context as Outlook.Inspector;  
         if (inspector != null)
         {
             MailItem mi = inspector.CurrentItem;
             if (mi != null)
             {
                mi.Subject = "Hello Word!";
             }
         }
    }

Thursday, September 24, 2015 8:59 AM

All replies

• Hello,

VSTO provides two main ways for customizing the Ribbon UI:

Essentially you need to add the onAction attribute for the button and then add the corresponding callback to the code.

Read more about the Fluent UI (aka Ribbon UI) in the following series of articles in MSDN:

Wednesday, September 23, 2015 7:48 PM
  • Can you show me the code that I need to add to make my button1 work. Thanks.
    Wednesday, September 23, 2015 7:56 PM