[IIS & VS] Cannot access class located in App_Code RRS feed

• Question

• User948428231 posted

Hey all. I'm just beginning to read a book on ASP.NET 4 by Murach. To start with I've set up IIS on my machine, and what I'm trying to do is to set up an exercise that he has in the book. In the exercise folder there is no project file, which I believe means that this is a web site rather than a web application.

So what I have done so far:
    1. Gone to IIS Manager
    2. Added the appropriate folder (Ch01Cart) as a virtual directory
    3. Accessed the Order.aspx file with the following url: 'http://localhost/Ch01Cart/Order.aspx'

Once there I get the following error: "Compiler Error Message: CS0246: The type or namespace name 'Product' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)" What he was trying to do in the code there was simply to create an instance of the Product class from Order.aspx. The path for Product.cs is Ch01Cart/App_Code/Product.cs and the path for Order.aspx is Ch01Cart/Order.aspx. So essentially it can't access Product.cs from Order.aspx. I read somewhere that this meant that I need to change the build action on the files under App_Code to 'compile', but I also read that that only applied to Web Applications, and as I stated before, I think this is a website, even though I'm not certain about the differences. One thing that's odd is that, when I open the folder in Visual Studio (File -> Open -> Web Site -> Local -> Browse for folder) I can start debugging and it opens Order.aspx just fine.

Here's the code for both files:

using System;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using System.Linq;
    using System.Web;
    using System.Web.UI;
    using System.Web.UI.WebControls;
    using System.Data;

public partial class Order : System.Web.UI.Page
    {
    private Product selectedProduct;

protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
    if (!IsPostBack)
    ddlProducts.DataBind();