MS sql tabel with non basic-latin characters (Ø) in table name causes errors RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to lightswitch, and I am having trouble using a ms-sql 2008 database with table and column names that have non basic latin characters (in particular Danish characters ø,Ø,Æ,æ,Å,å). I have no problem seeing and connecting to the tables, but when I make a screen, and then build the project, the screen shows same first- record in all rows. I have checked from ssms and the tables here Work just fine.

Is this a known bug in lightswith or the database framework?

Does anybody know a workaround?

Are there any settings I can use to get it working?

I have tried creating synonyms for the tables, but these synonyms does not show up in VS when connecting to tables.

I have also tried with views, but views end up being read-only.

I am using Visual studio 2013 sp1.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Tom

Thursday, April 17, 2014 7:26 PM

Answers

• There is a quick workaround.

In LightSwitch entity designer change the properties 'name' and 'plural name' to logical names with just ascii characters (still ok in external database). In my quick test I only had to change the 'plural name' to solve the problem that you have.

Dave

Dave Baker | AIDE for LightSwitch | Xpert360 blog | twitter : @xpert360 | Xpert360 website | Opinions are my own. For better forums, remember to mark posts as helpful/answer.

Sunday, May 11, 2014 9:46 AM

All replies

• Hi Tom,

Welcome to LightSwitch forum.

I think we need look into this issue, first we need connect to database properly,

Connect LightSwitch to an Existing Database

you will see how to use an existing database with Visual Studio LightSwitch. You will also see how to update LightSwitch entities and screens when schema changes are made to the external database.

If it still has same issue, please let me know, we will look into it further.

Best regards

Angie