Card Games RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I am new to Silverlight. I wanted to know if it is possible to create a virtual card deck that could be used to play simple games, but in a free environment. No game logic involved. Only virtual compoenents, such as;

a shuffle-able deck; a discard pile that the player may draw from; a place on the table to place cards; and the ability for a player to view his cards and have any number of cards in his hand without other people seeing him. 

The idea is that we want to play card games that may involve multiple decks, and also not be restricted by turn-based programs. (i.e. any one can play cards at any moment, or draw from the deck or discard pile etc. at any time just in case the rules would allow them to do so.

The click and drag approach with a simple solitaire program is where I would like to start, but I am new to silverlight and I don't know what the functions and capabilities are yet. I have a lot of work to do on my own, but I was wondering if anyone out there in the Silverlight world had anything that could help get me started. 

Thanks a million!

-Adam

Sunday, January 24, 2010 5:32 PM

All replies

• I think it's probably harder to create a freeform card simulator than to create a card game with rules. You would need to have a way to figure out if the player is meaning to put a card in their hand or on the table, if they take from the deck whether it goes in their hand, on the table face up in a pile, or whatever. I can't imagine the user interface for something like this. If you figure out that part, the actual displaying of card etc shouldn't be too hard.