Encryption in SQL Server 2005 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi I am quite new to this topic.

I hit some problems while trying to experiment with the built-in encryption provided by mssql 2005.

I am currently running mssql 2005 on Windows XP SP2 for testing. I have read somewhere that actually Windows XP SP1 already support AES encryption so I am wondering does it still does not apply to mssql 2005? I had hit problems with not being able to create the key.

I would also like to check can the keys be transport out of the server and then still be able to be called from the original server? Our objective is to protect the data from the database adminstrator so we are actually thinking to remove the keys from the server so that the database administrator does not have access to it but at the same time still being able to encrypt and decrypt the data at rest. But is it also true that the transaction logs would be able to track the keys? If so, am I able to customise the log such that it does not log the keys? I'm sorry if I do sounds confusing and illogical here.

Thanks in advance.

Jingshi
    Wednesday, April 1, 2009 8:18 AM

Answers

•   The sample code you provided seems to work for me, both on SQL Server 2005 & SQL Server 2008, I am not sure what could be the cause of the error. I noticed a couple of potential code bugs that, depending on the circumstances, may be affecting.

create database retest
    go

use retest
    go

create table retest
    ( username varchar ( 50), 
    --password varchar ( max )) 
    -- * varbinary/varchar(max) are not really supported by the encryption/decryption APIs,
    --   I would recommend explicitly using varbinary() up to 8000 bytes
    -- * Using varchar/nvarchar to store binary data is discourage as the binary data
    --   may not represent a valid string, or may be transformed as a sides effect by code trying to interpret it
    password varbinary ( 8000 )) 
    go

select * from sys.asymmetric_keys