Need to know about Application Architecture RRS feed

• Question

• User1052662409 posted

Hi all,

Actually I am about to start a web-application using c#, .net 3.5 and Sqlserver 2008.

I already know what is opps, 3-tier architecture etc.. (As I am a self taught man, whatever I know about MS Technologies).

I need to develop it in a proffesional manner, like what it should be used from MS technology. I never planned for an architecture before, yes I developed web application before, but never approach architecture and design patterns.

So I request to you, please guide me from where I should start so it'd be like a mannered web-application

Friday, February 8, 2013 4:14 AM

Answers

• User-525215917 posted

As a first thing I suggest you to read some books that also stop on architecture. My suggestion is Microsoft® .NET: Architecting Applications for the Enterprise (Pro-Developer) by Dino Esposito. You can also take some more complex and harder to read books (I'm sure somebody will recommend you some of these) but the one I suggested is good to get started. It's somewhere between theory and practice and it is good start to more complex books.

To get started I suggest you to start building some application and then also take a look at how other developers have built UI-s and data layers of their applications, how they have managed dependency injection and testability etc. Learn as you go. With no hands-on practice it's hard to make valid decisions.

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Saturday, February 9, 2013 9:54 AM

All replies

• User-576912550 posted
    For Service Layer you can use WCF or Web API (if you want more control over HTTP). For UI I would suggest ASP.NET MVC framework.
    Friday, February 8, 2013 5:50 AM
  • User-545631939 posted