How it works RRS feed

• Question

• Hey guys I'm very new to the whole programming industry. And I just downloaded the visual studio Ide and this all seems very interesting to me but I would just like to know about the "Console application ".I have seen a lot of tutorials and how people write their code in there but I just don't understand how that could turn out to be a programme on a pc. And then I read the article about how to create a calendar using a "GUI" and that seemed more like a programme to me I would just like to know what's the difference so if I decide to be one day work in this industry which one would I use more and why..so that I can practice and develop my knowledge more on that peace of c# programming. 
    Friday, July 4, 2014 7:19 PM

Answers

• There isn't much difference except the interface.  Dos was developed before windows and DOS (a console application) did not had very limited graphics capabilities.  Here are some minor differences between console and GUI.

1) Console application terminates when it is finished.  GUI usually stays running until user closes the window.

2) Console application usually takes inputs from keyboard and displays output as text in a window.  GUI users Form controls and can display as text or graphics.

jdweng

• Marked as answer by Fred Bao Monday, July 14, 2014 7:40 AM
    Friday, July 4, 2014 9:31 PM

All replies

• There isn't much difference except the interface.  Dos was developed before windows and DOS (a console application) did not had very limited graphics capabilities.  Here are some minor differences between console and GUI.

1) Console application terminates when it is finished.  GUI usually stays running until user closes the window.

2) Console application usually takes inputs from keyboard and displays output as text in a window.  GUI users Form controls and can display as text or graphics.

jdweng

• Marked as answer by Fred Bao Monday, July 14, 2014 7:40 AM
    Friday, July 4, 2014 9:31 PM