ASP.NET Sites/Pages Getting "Crossed" (Displaying Incorrect Data" RRS feed

• Question

• User-882255348 posted

UPDATE: This has been solved. Turns out I was using the same session variable name to store some data and then moving it back to a dataset rather than making a round trip for each request. Then, the dataset was used to generate some tables and one of those was the datasource for the gridview. Since I used duplicate table names and dataset names and then compounded it with using duplicate session variable names, the session variable was used to populate the dataset in BOTH pages instead of only one.

Sorry for the short-term question.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Hi, everyone:

I'm working on supporting an ASP classic intranet site. I'm also trying to implement new solutions on that site with ASP.NET. I have Framework 4.0 installed on IIS 6.0 running on Win2K3 server SP3.

I developed the sites in Visual Studio 2010, but I'm not a professional developer and these are my first tries at this. When finally I got the sites doing what I wanted them to do the correct way, I deployed them using the Copy Web Site option in Visual Studio. The folders containing all of my files were put into a subfolder on the server.

When the pages load, they seem to act like ONE site, even though they're in separate folders in the directory. For clarity, the structure on the network looks like this:

\\servername\web_directory\customer service\OpenOrders

So, when I navigate to the URL of the page, I get the page and it loads fine. As I stated, there are TWO I've deployed, both are in the Customer Service folder. The first folder I copied was called ShipInfo. The second came about a week later. It uses the same general principles, but gets its data from another source elsewhere on the network. It lives in a folder called OpenOrders. So, one of them lives in

\\servername\web_directory\customer service\ShipInfo

and the other lives in