none
Office js API-Task pane app-download file from web RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a developer working on an Office JS task pane app in Word. Using the contents of the user's file my app generates a document as a pdf either a docx on my application's server. I would like to give the user the option to download this generated file directly from the task pane. I have tried to implement this using Javascript (linking to the document with window.location.href) but the behavior I have seen has been inconsistent across platforms and does not function well anywhere. 

On the Mac the pdf is downloaded and opened, but it takes the place of the application in the task pane and there is no way to save the pdf permanently. On the iPad trying to download the document within the pane crashes the add in. On Word 2016 nothing happens when the link is clicked (but I have confirmed that the server is sending a response).

While it is possible to open the link to the document in a browser (using something like window.open) my application requires the user to sign in for permissions to download. While the users are signed in within the task pane, but they are not signed in on the browser. I would really like to avoid asking users to sign in again in the browser. 

Is there a way to start a document download within an Office add-in task pane without bouncing the user to a seperate browser? 

Tuesday, July 12, 2016 5:22 PM

Answers

• >>>Does such functionality exist? ?

According to your description, JavaScript API for Office does not exist such functionality. I also create Office Add-in Task Pane with ASP.Net and try to use a Generic Handler to download files, unfortunately, I am fail. So I suggest that you could submit any feedback to OfficeDev UserVoice:

https://officespdev.uservoice.com/

Thanks for your understanding.
    • Proposed as answer by David_JunFeng Tuesday, August 2, 2016 2:54 PM
    • Marked as answer by David_JunFeng Tuesday, August 2, 2016 2:55 PM