usb sensor RRS feed

• Question

• hi,
    i'm a student and i'm newbie of robotic studio. I have to connect few usb sensors to my pc and i want using it with microsoft robotic studio.the sensors ready work with an other application in windows xp with another software. For example humidity, temperature sensor.i would like to know how realize a vlp block of my sensor.
    My problem is that i dont know how to set the sensor block in order to make it read the data from usb port of my computer.
    I see some sensors in wich the port used was the bluetooth, but what i need is to read the data from the usb, because my sensor have an usb interface.
    Thanks a lot for your help!
    Saturday, May 31, 2008 11:23 AM

Answers

• I'm not sure that this is a project for a beginner, but here are some steps that might help you.

You should also look at the Service Tutorials. In particular, Service Tutorial 9 is about implementing generic contracts.

Make yourself a folder under your MRDS installation to put your services into. For example, you could call it Projects.

Start a DSS Command Prompt and change directories to your new Projects folder. Then create a new service as follows:

Code Snippet

dssnewservice /service:usbsensor /i:..\bin\roboticscommon.proxy.dll /alt:"http://schemas.microsoft.com/robotics/2006/06/analogsensor.html"

The /service gives your new service a name. A new folder will be created to hold the source files using this name.

The /i specifies the DLL to look in, which is Robotics Common.

The /alt says that you want to implement the generic Analog Sensor contract.

Now open your new project. I am going to refer to it as usbsensor, but you might want to give it a different name, especially if you have several different sensors.

You will have to add a Reference to your USB programming library. I am assuming that you can call it from C#. It should be a DLL of some sort.