none
Multiple Grapgics Windows in Smallbasic RRS feed

• General discussion

• I recently found smallbasic and think its a great addition to anyones programming library! I have been a programmer since 1980 and this is what is needed , short and sweet and simple. Having Programmed in  quick basic and now the over bloated VB 2010 (not to mention everything inbetween )and spending a fortune for updates, This basic with just a couple of fixes would do  nicely,  Like multiple graphics windows or text windows. This goes to show you that that a language can be small and extremely powerful. And not just for kids

This thread is to discuss multiple graphics and text windows, it should be very easy to add.

Keep up the great work.

Basicforever

Wednesday, December 29, 2010 3:57 PM

All replies

• Multiple windows is possible with the Fremy extension.  Example below:

id = -1
    gw = 400
    gh = 400
    FCInstances.MainSub("start")

Sub start
      id1 = FCInstances.Add("createWin","")
      id2 = FCInstances.Add("createWin","")
      FCInstances.SetVariable(id1,"id",1)
      FCInstances.SetVariable(id2,"id",2)
      FCInstances.CallSub(id1,"initWin")
      FCInstances.CallSub(id2,"initWin")
      While ("True")
        FCInstances.CallSub(id1,"draw")
        FCInstances.CallSub(id2,"draw")
        Program.Delay(100)
      EndWhile
    EndSub

Sub createWin
      GraphicsWindow.Show()
    EndSub

Sub initWin
      idMain = FCInstances.MainInstance
      gw = FCInstances.GetVariable(idMain,"gw")
      gh = FCInstances.GetVariable(idMain,"gh")
      GraphicsWindow.Width = gw
      GraphicsWindow.Height = gh
      GraphicsWindow.Top = 0
      If (id = 1) Then
        GraphicsWindow.BackgroundColor = "Red"
        GraphicsWindow.Left = 0
      ElseIf (id = 2) Then
        GraphicsWindow.BackgroundColor = "Blue"
        GraphicsWindow.Left = gw+20
      EndIf
    EndSub

Sub draw
      x = GraphicsWindow.MouseX
      y = GraphicsWindow.MouseY