none
How to communicate to potential developers I want to hire for my Excel VBA system RRS feed

• General discussion

• I don't know if this is the right platform for this topic, but I would really appreciate some feedback.

I have built a customised financial system for a small business that provides services in various locations. The system uses Excel Workbooks and VBA because that is what I was familiar with when I started. I learned programming years ago in university and had a career in finance that required frequent programming both independently and in a team environment but I am not a programmer per se.  In the space of only 3 years this system has helped to  transform the business into a  successful enterprise and I am now doing succession planning, trying to find someone to replace my role. But I can't seem to communicate effectively with potential candidates for my replacement.

The main purpose of the system is to track receivables and payables in a wide variety of billing and payment arrangements for our business. There is other very customised functionality as well. Financial transaction data is coming from many sources.

In terms of succession planning I am having trouble explaining my system approach to prospective candidates  to take over my programming responsibilities. We are not currently working with a relational database even though I am told that is the more modern approach. At any point we are only working with about 10,000 rows of excel data which I store in 3 flat excel workbooks and use import and export procedures I have written to manage the data together with cloud computing. Three accounting staff use my system to manage the data and reporting from the 3 workbooks. Old data gets archived. It works fine.