none
VS2015 Community: Unable to open the Web site ‘blah.com’. The components for communicating with FTP servers are not installed.

    Question

  • So, where do I get them? How to install?

    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff

    Monday, December 28, 2015 8:17 PM

All replies

  • Are you trying to set up an FTP server on your Windows system? If so,you need to install IIS. The version of IIS to be installed depends on which version of Windows you are using.

    Monday, December 28, 2015 8:46 PM
  • No, I’m just trying to publish pages to a site using ftp. IIS has nothing to do with it, since I am able to publish using Expression Web 4, and VS2010 Pro.

    “It would be nice” to be able to do it from the tool that I’m using to develop the pages.


    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff

    Monday, December 28, 2015 8:58 PM
  • Thanks for Brian Muth's reply.

    Hi Peter N Roth,

    Please check whether you have installed Xamarin on your computer first. If yes, please uninstall it to check whether it is the bug of Xamarin.

    http://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/30406/bug-after-installing-xamarin

    If not, please check from Control Panel -> Program and Features -> Microsoft Visual Studio Web Authoring Component. If installed, please repair it. If not installed, please download and install with below link.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30169

    In addition, please check the ActiveLog.xml under the path of %AppData%\Microsoft\VisualStudio\14.0. This file will log all operations when you operate Visual Studio.

    Best Regards,
    Weiwei

    Wednesday, December 30, 2015 3:14 AM
    Moderator
  • Please check whether you have installed Xamarin on your computer first. If yes, please uninstall it to check whether it is the bug of Xamarin.

    http://forums.xamarin.com/discussion/30406/bug-after-installing-xamarin

    Weiwei -

    Xamarin was never installed on this machine, is not installed now.

    If not,

    please check from Control Panel -> Program and Features -> Microsoft Visual Studio Web Authoring Component. If installed, please repair it. If not installed, please download and install with below link.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30169

    The web page says, “The System Center Visual Studio Authoring Extensions—VSAE—is an add-in for Visual Studio 2015/2013/2012 (all editions) which provides Lifecycle Management Tools to support Management Pack Authoring.” I don’t understand how adding in yet more code, for “Management Pack Authoring” is going to fix a thing that doesn’t work now. I don’t believe I’ve ever authored a management pack.

    What is disturbing is that components will ‘interfere’ with others. What happened to OOP principles?

    In addition, please check the ActiveLog.xml under the path of %AppData%\Microsoft\VisualStudio\14.0. This file will log all operations when you operate Visual Studio.

    Best Regards,
    Weiwei

    There is no such file on my machine. If there were, I would expect it to contain as a final message, “The components for communicating with FTP servers are not installed.”

    See, the thing I can’t believe is that since Expression Web CAN communicate with FTP servers, the components ARE installed. So one or more of these “components” is lying.

    Do you have the components installed on your machine? What are their names?



    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff

    Thursday, December 31, 2015 2:51 AM
  • Hi Peter N Roth,

    >>There is no such file on my machine.

    Please open the switch of \Log with command "Devenv /log", then operate your Visual Studio again to reproduce the problem.

    In addition, please try repair your Visual Studio, which can help us re-install all components. And Visual Studio 2015 Update 1 has released, please download and install it from below link.

    https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/news/vs2015-update1-vs.aspx

    >>Do you have the components installed on your machine? What are their names?

    I don't install any extra components and just install Visual Studio 2015 with the installation package.

    Best Regards,
    Weiwei


    Thursday, December 31, 2015 10:46 AM
    Moderator
  • Weiwei -

    I ran the update, Visual Studio 2015 is now at update 1.

    I ran devenv /log.

    I loaded the website project. I clicked ‘connect’, entered the ftp passwords and received the ‘components not installed’ message. I shut Visual Studio 2015 down. ActiveLog.xml now exists with 731 entries, and 75 error messages.

    What shall I do next?


    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff

    Friday, January 01, 2016 2:39 AM
  • Hi Peter N Roth,

    Please upload the ActiveLog.xml file to OneDrive and share the link here. We need to analysis the file to check what's wrong when the error occurs.

    Best Regards,
    Weiwei

    Friday, January 01, 2016 5:28 AM
    Moderator
  • Here you go ... https://onedrive.live.com/?id=D6606A3EE4BF95F0!112&cid=D6606A3EE4BF95F0

    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff


    • Edited by Peter N Roth Saturday, January 02, 2016 2:40 AM error in original post
    Friday, January 01, 2016 8:34 PM
  • Hi Peter N Roth,

    According to the error message in ActiveLog.xml file, there something wrong with the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\.NETFramework. I suggest you repair your Visual Studio through Control Panel -> Programs and Features -> Visual Studio 2015 -> Change -> Repair.

        <source>Microsoft.VisualStudio.IDE.ToolboxControlsInstaller.ToolboxInstallerPackage</source>
        <description>Exception parsing Advertised (under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\.NETFramework) as a version</description>

        <source>Microsoft.VisualStudio.IDE.ToolboxControlsInstaller.ToolboxInstallerPackage</source>
        <description>Exception parsing AssemblyFolders (under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\.NETFramework) as a version</description>

    If repair doesn't work, I'm afraid that you need to reinstall your Visual Studio with following steps.

    1. Uninstall Visual Studio from Control Panel first.
    2. Uninstall all Visual Studio associated with msiinv tool, which will list all installed msi on your OS. In that way you can check them and if you want to remove any of them, you may try the msiexec /x <product code> to remove that components which related to Visual Studio.
    3. If your installation package is not ISO file, please skip this step. To make sure whether the package is well, Please use FCIV.exe http://support.microsoft.com/kb/841290 to verify hash of the ISO. Any discrepancy would indicate that the file was corrupted. Refer to: https://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/downloads/visual-studio-2015-iso-sha1-vs.aspx

    If still exist the problem, please use http://aka.ms/vscollect  to gather the VS and .Net Frameowrk installation logs. After using it, you will find vslogs.cab from %temp% folder. Please upload the file to Onedrive and share the link here.

    Best Regards,
    Weiwei


    Monday, January 04, 2016 1:46 AM
    Moderator
  • Weiwei –

    Step 1 complete for Visual Studio 2015. Today working on Express 2015 for Web, which also did not have the ftp components installed.

    I appreciate your assistance.

    “Configuring your system. This may take a while.” Introduces the idea that “a while” = For. Ev. Er.


    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff

    Monday, January 04, 2016 6:43 PM
  • Weiwei –

    On a clean(er) system, Visual Studio 2015 Community installs, but is still lacking the ftp components.

    This is basically a time-sink for which I did not volunteer. I will refrain from using VS to publish web pp, and retreat to Visual Studio 2010 and other tools for that purpose.

    Meanwhile, you might mention to Microsoft that all-in-one tools are called kludges for a reason.

    Thanks for your attention.


    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff

    Monday, January 04, 2016 10:10 PM
  • Hi Peter N Roth,

    I also using VS2015 Community and VS2015 Express, both of them works fine. Since you have the same problem on a clean system, I think there something wrong with your installation package.

    If you are willing to I suggest you download the ISO file from official site and install it , which can make sure it is not related to installation package.

    Best Regards,
    Weiwei

    Tuesday, January 05, 2016 1:48 AM
    Moderator
  • Weiwei –

    Installing from the iso, which I just finished, exhibits the same problem, that the ftp components are not installed, publishing will not happen.

    So until there is a tool that can correct this problem, I’ll just consider this installation as crippled.


    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff

    Tuesday, January 05, 2016 5:54 AM
  • @ Peter N Roth,

    It seems that other members also got this issue before, this was a connect report for this issue:

    https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedback/details/1676508/vs2015-web-publish-using-ftp-does-not-work

    If possible, you could vote it and add your comment, I think the report team experts will evaluate them seriously and give us the Email update. Thanks for your feedback for the VS products.

    Sincerely,

    Jack


    We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

    Wednesday, January 06, 2016 11:54 AM
    Moderator
  • Thanks, Jack!

    I clicked the up arrow, so the number is now a ‘3’. If that means there are three of us in the world with this problem, I expect there are bigger problems. ;o) But then I notice that I reported this issue to that site a few months ago. I am a voice crying in the wilderness!

    I included the link to the ActiveLog.xml file, so maybe it’ll get a look.


    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff

    Wednesday, January 06, 2016 5:46 PM
  • And while I appreciate the invitation, when I click on HERE in your sig block, the web replies:

    Bad Request - Request Too Long


    HTTP Error 400. The size of the request headers is too long.


    peter n roth - http://PNR1.com, Maybe some useful stuff

    Wednesday, January 06, 2016 5:48 PM
  • Hi Peter N Roth,

    Thanks for your friendly response:)

    >>But then I notice that I reported this issue to that site a few months ago.

    I help you submit a new report for this issue, maybe the previous one was old.

    https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/feedbackdetail/view/2217552/vs2015-unable-to-open-the-web-site-the-components-for-communicating-with-ftp-servers-are-not-installed

    You could add the latest comment in this new connect report.

    >>when I click on HERE in your sig block, the web replies:

    Bad Request - Request Too Long

    It is the support site here:

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us?wa=wsignin1.0

    Have a nice day,

    Jack


    We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

    Friday, January 08, 2016 6:52 AM
    Moderator
  • Now an "11". Some noise there which seems to imply that you need to have VS 2013 installed as that included the FTP components. Anybody with new scoop on this?

    Friday, September 09, 2016 10:03 PM