locked
Deleted Accounts RRS feed

  • Question

  • 1. When are AD deleted accounts removed from SharePoint?

    2. When accounts are removed from SharePoint. What happens to the created by and modified by data? 



    Varun Saxena

    Monday, July 1, 2013 5:49 AM

Answers

  • As you can see from the fact that there are three different responses, it's complicated.

    There are two main threads of users and how they exist in SharePoint. User profiles and mysites, which spadmin and Mahesh have addressed, and users in site collections.

    For general site collections, where you work on documents or view the intranet etc. SharePoint makes a local copy of the user account. Take a user 'Bob' who logs into the intranet for the first time, when he does that an entry is created in a list on the site collection for Bob. This entry includes their display name and a few other bits of data. Whenever Bob modifies or adds a document to that site collection it is his entry in that list that's referenced.

    When Bob finally gets deleted from AD his entry from the list is not removed. This means that all the modified by and created by values are still using that list and still show up.

    It is possible to remove users from that list, but it's generally something you have to try to do, in which case you end up with a SID displayed as the modified by value (a long string of numbers).

    Monday, July 1, 2013 7:18 AM

All replies

  • When an user has been deleted from AD then after the synchronization job that runs the user profiles should get deleted from SharePoint.

    Incase they were not deleted due to some reason then Mysite Cleanup timer job runs, which definitely deletes those profiles from Sharepoint.

    Monday, July 1, 2013 6:40 AM
  • Hi Varun,

    Please go through following article:

    http://www.harbar.net/archive/2011/02/10/account-deletion-and-sharepoint-2010-user-profile-synchronization.aspx


    Please don't forget to 'mark answer/propose answer' or 'vote as helpful' as appropriate.

    Monday, July 1, 2013 7:00 AM
  • As you can see from the fact that there are three different responses, it's complicated.

    There are two main threads of users and how they exist in SharePoint. User profiles and mysites, which spadmin and Mahesh have addressed, and users in site collections.

    For general site collections, where you work on documents or view the intranet etc. SharePoint makes a local copy of the user account. Take a user 'Bob' who logs into the intranet for the first time, when he does that an entry is created in a list on the site collection for Bob. This entry includes their display name and a few other bits of data. Whenever Bob modifies or adds a document to that site collection it is his entry in that list that's referenced.

    When Bob finally gets deleted from AD his entry from the list is not removed. This means that all the modified by and created by values are still using that list and still show up.

    It is possible to remove users from that list, but it's generally something you have to try to do, in which case you end up with a SID displayed as the modified by value (a long string of numbers).

    Monday, July 1, 2013 7:18 AM
  • Varun,

      What Alex said is absolutely right, though I have told you about existence of the user profiles in Sharepoint for future use only but those users if already added to any site then then wont get deleted from the site automatically you can always find them in ALLPeople list for every site collection. 

    Monday, July 1, 2013 7:24 AM