Basic console problem- window doesn't open for long enough RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm a beginner to C++, so my question is rather trivial. I've been trying to compile a couple of simple console win32 programs with reasonable success so far. However, whenever I run them, the console window automatically closes as soon as it runs the last command. Is there any way I can keep it running so that I can manually close it? I know there is a feature like this in Pascal, with which I'm familiar and it helps me understand if the outcome is what I expect.

Wednesday, July 22, 2009 10:01 AM

Answers

• Hi,

when I was beginner, I struggled with exactly the same problem, some classmates even used to put a "getch();" at the end of program (don't do that!!!), which I consider one of the most awful workaround I ever met.