Models, Report Builder 2 and "left join" RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm new to reporting svcs and I'm writing a report based on a report model (.smdl) created in VS.NET 2008.  I seem to be missing out on the report builder query view's analog to a "left join."  Model is very simple:

Three entities:
    Cust (custid, custname)
    Ord (ordid, custid, orddate, ...)
    Charge (chargeid, ordid, chargetype, chargevalue...)

Think of a "charge" as an optional cost (a special charge) associated with an order -- some orders have them, some don't.

Model was auto-generated from views (.dsv) which accurately indicate the relationships between cust and ord, and between ord and charge. I noted that when designing the view relationships there was no kind of option to indicate (for example) that the relationship should be treated as a "left join".  

Now I jump to Report Builder 2 (RB2) to design a report based on this model.  My goal is to simply list for each order: customer name, order date, charge type, charge value (i.e., order row would repeat if it had more than one charge type).  I want ALL orders listed, even if an order doesn't have any charges -- what I would consider a "left join" in the traditional sense.

I use RB2's Query Designer to create the dataset, and merely select (i.e., double-click) the entities I want as fields in the report: custname, orddate, chargetype, chargeval.  I then create a simple table in the report based on this dataset.

When running the report, I get only those orders which actually have charges.  I was rather hoping to get all orders.  Is there a way I can specify that?

Thank you,
    Bill Dawson
    Tuesday, February 17, 2009 4:31 PM

Answers

• A few more details on Raymond's solution: