none
Using Timer function to record data from logger RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am very new to Visual Basic and need to interpret some data coming in from a LabJack data logger. The information coming in is a voltage describing a temperature.

I only need to record the temperature over a certain period of time (30 seconds) but in very small intervals (say every tenth of a second). What I want to do is add some sort of timer function so that when initiated, the macro grabs and records the temperature at every time interval for the 30 seconds, and then stops logging. So basically a For... Next loop, but with real time instead of an integer.

I am sure this is really simple, but I figured I may as well get it right the first time.

Thanks!
    Thursday, June 28, 2012 12:55 AM

All replies

• How is the data 'coming in'?   Do you already have the code to read the data and your problem is that you need to time it correctly?  If so, show what the curernt code is.   If the problem is that you don't know how to get the data from the datalogger then you will need to provide a lot more information about the device, including how it is connected to the PC and the data format that is used to transmit the data.

For the timing issue, it will be important to know whete rthe logger is transmitting continuously, or on request.

Thursday, June 28, 2012 1:51 AM
  • 

I took some code from the LabJack website to bring the data to excel, it was all done for you on their website. Their code however only records one data point when you run the macro and puts it into cell B25 (I am having trouble copying and pasting that code into this message box, I have no idea why, it just won't paste in). What I want to do is essentially run their macro over and over again, every .1 of a second, and insert a new row I suppose so that I end up with a long set of data corresponding to each time point.

I believe that the logger is transmitting continuously.