How to create a Database with table in WebApi with Code First approach RRS feed

• Question

• User-1980778524 posted

Hi, newBie here, I did the following.

Problem:
    When I open the SQL Server Object explorer from Menu in VS2017, I didnot find my database call UserRegistryDB.

Please help.

1) I have installed SQLServer 2016 EXPRESS

2)

a) add EntityFramework to reference in the project.

b) I have created a Class : UserDBContext.cs  in Model-Folder

public class UserDBContext : DbContext
     {     
        public DbSet<User> Users { get; set; }

}

3) I have added a model class in Model-Folder

public class User
        {
            public int Id { get; set; }
            public string emailID { get; set; }
            public string AppName { get; set; }
            public string SessionToken { get; set; }

}

4) I have added below : in Web.Config

<connectionStrings>
        <add name="UserDBContext"
         connectionString="server=.; database= UserRegistryDB; integrated security = true;"
         providerName ="System.Data.SqlClient"/>

</connectionStrings>

5) Build and run

no compilation error, build success.

I need help with the Question:

What are the differences in ConnectionString that using server =. , server=(local) ? or server=(localdb)

a) connectionString="server=. ; database= UserRegistryDB; integrated security = true;"

b) connectionString="Data Source=(localdb)\MSSQLLocalDB;Initial Catalog=TestDatabase;Integrated Security=True"

Thanks

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 6:42 AM

All replies

• User-1980778524 posted

Any1 can help? I still dont know why and  how to solve this problem.

Tuesday, October 10, 2017 1:24 PM
  • User475983607 posted

The dot and (local) are your machine name.  (localdb) is usually SQL Express.  It depends on how you setup SQL Express and if you installed other versions of SQL.  You can figure out what to have by looking at the SQL services you have running.