none
Use EF with DDD principles is possible ??? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all!

I'm newbie and i have some curiosity on architecture of application :

I'm studing DDD principles and in the past I studied how EF works,

is possible to integrate both system to build a business modular application ?

are there any helpful guides on their integration?

Thanks for all suggestions

Friday, April 5, 2019 4:53 PM

Answers

• Yes, Code First will create the tables. Please accept the answers if I've answered your questions, that way others can benefit from it.

Thursday, April 11, 2019 6:46 PM

All replies

• DDD and EF have little / nothing to do with one another.

DDD is a modeling concept and EF is an Object Relational Mapper (ORM). It is basically a persistence technology. A DDD design may use EF in some form under the hood, but the two should not interact in any other way.

Some interpretations of Domain-Driven Design do actually advocate data-modeling. With this in mind, "Entities" and "Value Objects" are essentially function-less data holders, and the design concerns itself with what properties these hold and what relation they have between one another. 

In conclusion: DDD and EF are not mutually exclusive, they are actually irrelevant to one another. As long as you are doing proper object-modeling and not data-modeling. DDD objects should not in any shape or form be EF artifacts. DDD Entities should not be EF "entities". Inside some business-relevant method, a DDD design could use EF with some related data-objects however, they should be hidden under a business-relevant behavior-oriented interface.

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 1:17 PM
  • I imagined what you're telling me, that a DDD Entity is not an EF Entity, since an EF Entity is the representation of a physical table of a DB as an object, while a DDD Entity is a conceptual object made up of other objects that may or may not be EF entities.