SAS URL used for secure download from a specific website RRS feed

• Question

• I am trying to store a file in a blob storage and then generate an SAS URL for a specific website (our companies) to allow others on the website to download the file.  I only want those on our website to be able to download the file.  I am new to using Azure and have been working with all its functions through the Azure Portal and the Explorer built into it.  If my understanding of documentation is correct, I can utilize the "Allowed IP addresses" function/field on the Generate SAS screen to do this.  I should be able to add my company website IP Address, then generate the URL, add the URL as a link onto our website, and that is all.  Now all downloads are restricted to requests coming from our website.  

I tested this and it did not work for me so I must be missing something or not understanding how this works.  I have generated an SAS URL with no IP Address limitations to test functionality.  This worked.  I tested different permissions and time stamps and all passed.  I just need help getting (or understanding) the "Allowed IP addresses" to work.  

Any help is appreciated.  

Wednesday, May 23, 2018 2:58 PM

Answers

• I have reviewed these.  After some more checking on things, I believe I have found the answer.  The SAS IP Address being sent to Azure is the originating IP Address of the user, not my website the user is on.  It was unclear to me which IP Address Azure was using and/or being sent.  

Thanks for the help.  

• Marked as answer by vikranth s Tuesday, May 29, 2018 1:46 PM
    Tuesday, May 29, 2018 1:19 PM

All replies

• How exactly have you generated the SAS URI?

Have you generated a Service SAS or an account SAS?

Are you getting any error message?

If you haven’t referred, refer the below documentations for detailed information on SAS:

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/storage/common/storage-dotnet-shared-access-signature-part-1

Constructing an Account SAS