none
VBA code which creates a Word ribbon tab listing recent documents RRS feed

• Question

• Has anyone seen any VBA code which creates a Word ribbon tab listing recent documents? I find the recent document list at the bottom of Backstage under the File tab is too far away and the one in the jump list is too much of a moving target. I can't find a command in the ribbon customization which does it.

I asked this question on Google Groups and a Microsoft MVP suggested I come here and ask it. If there is a better place to ask this tell me, I really don't know how to code but I sometimes have been able to modify other people's code to get it to do what I want.

I recently upgraded from Word 2002 where I had a menu which was nothing but the recent documents list. In fact, I have spent the past month making Word 2013 look and act as much as the Word I had been using for ten years, auto-hiding the ribbon to make it act more like menus and loading up my Quick Access toolbar with commands. I even recently figured out how to edit the right-click menu which seems to go against Microsoft’s wishes.

Saturday, July 20, 2013 4:28 AM

All replies

• Well, there's a command you can add to your QAT (or to a Ribbon tab) in the "File" category of Options/Customize Ribbon that will take you directly to the list of Recent files (the "Open" tab in the Backstage), where recent files are listed by default: "Open". That's what I use. It seems to me that's just as "close" as putting button in the Ribbon if you're auto-hiding the Ribbon...

It is possible to make a list of recent files using VBA, but you need to understand how to work with Ribbon XML in order to add a menu to your Ribbon that will display such a list as a menu. It doesn't sound like you've worked with that, yet, so you may want to first review the information in the 3-part documentation Customizing the 2007 Office Fluent Ribbon for Developers .