The role of Blend

General discussion

• I'm just beginning to outline the user interface for a new Sonos controller app, I'm relatively new to the XAML based GUI techniques and MVVM but have delved reasonably deeply into the binding model, observable collections and change notification handling.

I have a crude GUI in a test app that exercises the "back end" (model) UPnP controller "engine" API, but this is crude and apart from its proof of concept value is more or less throw away.

So the question has come up - should I consider using Blend as part of my approach to creating this GUI?

I've asked this kind of question before but never really get clarity.

It seems that Blend is suited to certain "rich" types of user interface and offers more than VS does, but what exactly does "rich" mean here?

Surely complex GUIs rely on pre-written controls and VS supports that well I thought.

I'm finding it hard to get meaningful answers, real concrete examples of scenarios where Blend wins hands down over VS but all I get are vague rather wish washy answers.

Why is Blend better than VS for some things? Is the designer better? Does it support superior control embedding? Is it better if there are large numbers of visual elements (imagine VS itself as a rich user interface, is VS designed or maintained with Blend).

In fact what products sold by Microsoft are built internally with Blend? Do Microsoft actually use Blend themselves for anything? If so what?

Even if my GUI were somewhat simple, would it be wise to use Blend just to get familiar with it? Is there a downside to using Blend other than the learning effort?

Any input from experts here is very much appreciated.

Cap'n

Monday, October 21, 2013 3:43 AM

All replies

• See Blend for Visual Studio 2013