Detecting a router's external IP RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everybody, I'm just getting started in the realm of networking w/ the .NET framework.

I'm coding my app in C#, it's just a simple command line server that will listen for commands from an external client.

Right now, I'm just trying to get the server, when started, to print out the local machine's IP.

However, I want it to print out the address as seen by computers not on my network. So, instead of 192.168.1.XXX, I want it to give me what a website like http://whatismyipaddress.com/ would return.

Thanks in advance!
    Tuesday, November 7, 2006 3:43 AM

Answers

• There are many ways of detecting external IP of router. One of the easiest if using "web services".
    However, this method has risk of using because the web service may change anytime and therefore this method will no more applicable.
    I will talk about how to request external IP from "external DNS" in other time. Today i talk about the easiest way first.

System.Net.HttpWebRequest request =
    (System.Net.HttpWebRequest)System.Net.HttpWebRequest.Create("http://www.what
    ismyip.org/");

request.UserAgent = "User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE
    6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727)";

System.Net.HttpWebResponse response =
    	(System.Net.HttpWebResponse)request.GetResponse();

string myExternalIP = string.Empty;

using (System.IO.StreamReader reader = new
    	StreamReader(response.GetResponseStream()))
    {

myExternalIP = reader.ReadToEnd();
    	reader.Close();
    }

response.Close();

MessageBox.Show(myExternalIP);

Wednesday, November 22, 2006 1:02 PM
  • To answer the question above about obtaining your internal IP (ie. 192.168.x.x) see the System.Net.NetworkInformation namespace.  More specifically see this MSDN page: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.net.networkinformation.ipinterfaceproperties.aspx
    Wednesday, November 22, 2006 9:01 PM

All replies