Open Edit form directly when list ITem is clicked in Sharepoint list RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am new to Sharepoint programming.Previuosly I worked on WinForms.

Coming to the question, I have a Custom list named 'Client'.When I click on the Title column of an item,by default it opens the Display/View form.

My requirement is to open the Edit form directly.Please tell me how to achieve this.

Many thanks in advance..!

Thanks, Satish Bommideni Success usually comes to those who are too busy to be looking for it.

Thursday, May 31, 2012 10:31 AM

Answers

• Hi Ajit,

Thanks for the reply.

But I am unable to understand when you said

"Title is rendered as an <a> tag with view link attached to it. Change that link to

http://yoursiteName:port/ListName/Forms/EditForm.aspx?ID={}.

Replace the curly brace with the token in existing link."

When I opened the opened the code (Sharepoint Designer-> Advanced Mode-> Customize XSLT->Entire Code) I was confused where to add the code you mentioned can you be more specific at these steps.

Thanks in advance.!

Thanks, Satish Bommideni Success usually comes to those who are too busy to be looking for it.

• Marked as answer by Spartan_578 Thursday, June 7, 2012 4:55 AM
    Friday, June 1, 2012 6:54 AM

All replies

• This is possible, Your Custom List 'Client' must have some views. Get the view in which you wanted to implement this feature.

Open this view with sharepoint designer and edit the view.

You have to customize rendering of View(Title Column) i.e. Change xslt for it.

Title is rendered as an <a> tag with view link attached to it. Change that link to

Replace the curly brace with the token in existing link.

For more info follow this link

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff606773.aspx

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff630941.aspx#odc_sp14_qn_UsingSharePointDesigner2010WorkwithWebParts_ModifyXSLTListViewWebPart

Thanks

Don't forget to mark as answer or vote as helpful if it answers your query.