Can preview time for Windows Developer Preview be extended past March?

Question

• I am a student and briefly loaded this preview onto my Eee Slate Tablet and found it to work remarkably well.  I reverted to Windows 7 however after seeing the terrible end date on the software license agreement.  Being an engineering student I am on my tablet all day and cant afford the mid March preview end date.  Is there a way to have this extended to June first?  Thank you.
    Wednesday, February 01, 2012 2:24 AM

Answers

• By the time the Developer Preview experies, the Windows 8 beta (or "Consumer Preview," as it's rumored to be called) will be available for download, so the expiration date shouldn't be a problem. If this is a tablet that you're using for serious work (and it sounds like it is), you should not use it to run pre-release software, unless you require it for a specific purpose.
    Wednesday, February 01, 2012 2:30 AM

All replies

• By the time the Developer Preview experies, the Windows 8 beta (or "Consumer Preview," as it's rumored to be called) will be available for download, so the expiration date shouldn't be a problem. If this is a tablet that you're using for serious work (and it sounds like it is), you should not use it to run pre-release software, unless you require it for a specific purpose.
    Wednesday, February 01, 2012 2:30 AM
  • Thank you for your quick response.  I wasnt sure of the beta release date.  I do use it for serious work however am careful to back everything up.  I am programming in school and found some of the tools useful.  The big improvement I noticed was the responsiveness of the tablet was greatly improved as well as the features of 8 are great for organization and focus.  Being able to shoot through applications is brilliant!
    Wednesday, February 01, 2012 9:04 PM
  • Being able to shoot through applications is brilliant!