none
Question on TableAdapter Query RRS feed

• Question

• I hope this is the right forum to ask about TableAdapters if not please direct me to the
    appropriate forum.

I am just learning to use VB.net by creating a client database.  Let me describe the program and I will ask the question.

I created a DataGridView to populate the client data. There are multiple fields clientID, jobname, etc.  I want to be able to search the database using jobname varchar(250) field.  I created a FillByJobNameToolStrip and was able to create a query using Table Adapter Query Configuration Wizard. 

SELECT     projectID, clientID, jobName, mrfg, equipModelNum, equipType, controlType, systemType, comment
    FROM         project_tbl
    where  (jobName =  @jobname)

The query above works fine but I want to be able to search the jobname field content using SQL wildcard.  For example let say JobName field contains (Designing of the Madison Square Garden audio visual switch controller using WME).  I want the query above to search any part of the JobName field with partial text.  Can this be achieved using FillBy query or the only solution is using a stored procedure?

Thank you in advance for all responses
    Sunday, June 29, 2008 6:19 PM

All replies

• Try chageing

where  (jobName =  @jobname)

to

where  (jobName like  @jobname)

and add the wildcard when setting the parameter's value something like:

selectCommand.Parameters["@jobname"].Value = textBox1.Text + "%";

Sunday, June 29, 2008 7:39 PM

• Sinan,

Thank you for the quick response.  Since I am using Add Query Wizard using TableAdapter.  How do I add the statement you provide.  Can you please provide some guidance.  Thanks

selectCommand.Parameters["@jobname"].Value = textBox1.Text + "%";

Sunday, June 29, 2008 8:35 PM

• I am hoping someone can help me resolve this error I am getting using the FillBy query.  This is a DataGrid using tableAdapter.