none
How to make calculator that allows user to use only 1 decimal point and not more RRS feed

• Question

• Im a beginner at VB and I need to know how to make it so that the user cant press decimal more than once as a school project, this is my code. 

Private Sub btnNumber_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) _
    	Handles btn0.Click, btn1.Click, btn2.Click, btn3.Click, btn4.Click,
    	btn5.Click, btn6.Click, btn7.Click, btn8.Click, btn9.Click, btnDot.Click

Dim btnNumberClicked As Button = sender 'Contains properties of clicked button

If blnNewOp Then
    			Me.txtDisplay.Text = btnNumberClicked.Tag
    			blnNewOp = False
    		Else
    			Me.txtDisplay.Text = Me.txtDisplay.Text & btnNumberClicked.Tag
    		End If

End Sub

Saturday, May 5, 2018 11:05 PM

Answers

• Use Decimal.TryParse or Double.TryParse on a string before making it Me.txtDisplay.Text. And if the string can't be parsed then that would be due to the string either being too long for Decimal or too long for Double or because it has more than one period in it probably. Or possibly use IsNumeric on a string and if it's not don't use it.

La vida loca

• Marked as answer by NotLevi Sunday, May 6, 2018 12:45 AM
    Saturday, May 5, 2018 11:18 PM

All replies

• Use Decimal.TryParse or Double.TryParse on a string before making it Me.txtDisplay.Text. And if the string can't be parsed then that would be due to the string either being too long for Decimal or too long for Double or because it has more than one period in it probably. Or possibly use IsNumeric on a string and if it's not don't use it.

La vida loca

• Marked as answer by NotLevi Sunday, May 6, 2018 12:45 AM
    Saturday, May 5, 2018 11:18 PM
  • Sorry but could you provide an example using my code? I'm new and I don't understand this stuff ;(
    Saturday, May 5, 2018 11:51 PM
  • Sorry but could you provide an example using my code? I'm new and I don't understand this stuff ;(