How to add a session app to my member pages? RRS feed

• Question

• User-250910258 posted

Hello, i need some help.  I am still new to asp.net so tasks that i use to do in Coldfusion i am having difficulties with here.

So, I have several member types on my website, which i identify through "Roles".  I can direct user upon login to the correct folder... with this:

@if ( Roles.IsUserInRole("buyer")) {
        <span> Welcome Buyer: <b>@WebSecurity.CurrentUserName</b>! </span>

}
    else {
         Response.Redirect("~/AdminError");
    }

however, now i would like to create a session state that will store:

1.  the user "id"

2.  the user "fitstName"

3.  the session "timeout"

Each page in the member folder requires verification and if the user is inactive i want to end the session hence, requiring the user to login again.

Any suggestions?  Thanks.

Wednesday, August 28, 2013 5:59 PM

Answers

• User-821857111 posted

If you are using the WebSecurity helper, that suggest you are already using Forms Authentication. By default they will be logged out after 30 minutes of inactivity. You can change this to 20 minutes (or any othe value) in the system.web section of your web.config:

<authentication mode="Forms">
        <forms timeout="20" />
    </authentication>

Forms timeout and sessions have nothing to do with eachother.

You can already get the user name and ID from the WebSecurity helper properties CurrentUserName and CurrentUserId. And you can protect an entire folder by adding a _PageStart.cshtml file to it with just

@{
        WebSecurity.RequireAuthenticatedUser();
    }

in it. 

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Thursday, August 29, 2013 6:55 AM
  • User379720387 posted

To answer your question you can expand the _PageStart functionality by adding

WebSecurity.RequireRoles("youruserrolehere");