Expression Freezes, when updating DWT. RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to this and have been building a site. I've got it up and running and everything has been going fine for about a week. I tried to make a change, Cosmetic only, to the "master.dwt" file of the web and save the changes, when asked if I want to update the attached files I select yes. The program freezes when it gets to the tenth file. I even deleted the file it was hanging up on thinking that might be the problem and now it just freezes on the new file.

If anyone can help or give me some direction it would be greatly appreciated.

Burt Robertson

The site is at http://www.mega-music.us

Thanks Again!
    Saturday, March 15, 2008 7:42 PM

Answers

• it happened to me this.
    I had a page that i changed some code using notepad, and when after i forced the dwt update it gave me the same problem as you. try to reconstruct some pages using a clean page (created using dwt).

if you are not sucessful, try in each page to remove the attached dwt and add it again.

Joao Pereira
    Wednesday, March 26, 2008 1:53 AM
  • <I had the same problem. It isn't the 10th file it gets stuck on just the last file processed as part of all files being updated (ie: those file attached to the dwt). Anyway I just reinstalled (repaired) Expression Web from the original Cd and the problem has instantly disappeared. I am not sure if the repair uninstalled the first service pack.

So the proposed answer is reinstall /repair the application.>

Scratch that...spoke to soon and the 'hanging' has happened again during a DWT update.

So this is NOT a solution.
    • Edited by Jacem01 Sunday, April 6, 2008 11:45 PM corrected misconception
    • Marked as answer by Lori DirksModerator Sunday, November 23, 2008 12:31 AM
    Thursday, April 3, 2008 12:59 AM
  • I just checked and the service pack remains installed after the reinstall/repair according to the 'About MSEW' page.
    Thursday, April 3, 2008 1:04 AM

All replies