none
VBA procedures on navigation forms RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

This is my first time posting on this site so any info or guidance is appreciated. I apologize in advance for the wordiness but the issue is kind of difficult to explain. I have a navigation form that has 5 tabs, four of which open various forms and reports without issue. The fifth tabs opens a dashboard form that is comprised of 6 subforms. The dashboard form has VBA that sizes each subform height based off the number of records pulled in a record count and works just fine when opened separate from the navigation form. When the dashboard form is opened in the navigation form the dirty events that trigger the sizing on the subforms all generate errors stating that object method is not supported in access. I am able to carry out other events (such as requery) using the VBA form paths for the navigation form and subforms. but the dirty events triggered from the dashboard form error out every time. Its my understanding this has to do with navigation subform control and the fact that it does not assume the subform control name. I am at a loss if there are any workaround for this. I have been on more forums and sites than I can count and have tried numerous combinations using BrowseTo, SourceObject, etc... commands but have not been able to get any combo to work. I am not sure why some events work and others do not, for example:

the following code will requery the daily log subform on the dashboard form after a user makes an entry using the entry form.

Forms![Navigation Form]![NavigationSubForm]![frm_DailyLog].requery

however the following code in the Mission form (the dash board form that contains the subforms) works just fine when opened by itself but not when opened using the tab on the navigation form.

Forms![Navigation Form]![NavigationSubForm]![frm_Mission].Form_Dirty (intCancel)